Sumter County Elementary School Awarded Grant from Sumter EMC Foundation

October 2019

Pictured with Ms. Elizabeth Solinger’s third grade class is Andrea Walker, Chairman of the Sumter EMC Foundation, Dina McCorkle, Media Specialist at SCES, Rebecca Schabeck, teacher, and Dr. Sharon Tullis, principal of SCES

Staff Reports

Americus, GA, October 8, 2019 -The Sumter Electric Membership Corporation Foundation, Inc. awarded a grant in the amount of $1,686.00 to Sumter County Elementary School. “We were thrilled to hear that SCES was awarded the Sumter EMC Foundation grant, funds from the grant will be used to purchase an Apple Mac Book computer, camera, and microphone so we can teach students how to use iMovie and complete video production
projects,” Rebecca Schabeck, Instructional Technology teacher.

“One of the seven guiding principles that govern the way Sumter EMC operates is involvement in the communities we serve. This project is a great example of how good things happen when people in a community work together for a common goal. Through this grant from our Foundation, Sumter EMC is proud to be part
of the effort to supply the school with technology to help further the education of students in Sumter County,” said Andrea Walker, Chairman of the Sumter EMC Foundation.

The Sumter EMC Foundation was founded in 2003 and is funded exclusively by cooperative members participating in Sumter EMC’s Operation Round Up®. Every month Sumter EMC rounds up the electric bill of participating members to the next whole dollar amount and deposits the difference into an interest-bearing account. The proceeds of the account are administered by the Sumter EMC Foundation’s board of trustees through grants to local schools, civic and charitable organizations. One hundred percent of the money collected is given back to the community through these grants. To date, the Foundation has awarded over $1,039,000 to community organizations in Sumter EMC’s service territory.

Sumter EMC is a locally owned and operated electric cooperative serving Chattahoochee, Dougherty, Lee, Marion, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Terrell and Webster counties.