The Americus Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. hosted an epic Celebration of Women

February 2020

Photo credit: Tammye Jones Americus Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated Charter members.

Staff Reports

The Americus Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated hosted an epic Celebration of Women on Saturday, February 1, 2020 in the beautiful Georgia Southwestern State University Fine Arts Theatre in Americus, Georgia.

As this organization of over 300,000 women across the globe celebrated their 107th Founders Day Celebration Event and 30th Chapter Anniversary, they were greeted by several leadership dignitaries, who came bearing celebratory gifts. Dr. Neal Weaver, President of GSW State University, shared the University’s vision and student demographics indicating a significant display of talent and academic excellence by the African American female students. He presented two coins as an act of gratitude to U.S. Representative Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. and Dr. Louise A. Rice, the 23rd National President of Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. Delta has a collegiate chapter, Theta Sigma, on-campus at GSW State University.

A featured performance was rendered by the Americus Sumter High School Chorus and an energizing selection by Ms. Angie Gardner, Principal of Commodore Conyers College & Career Academy and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Albany Alumnae Chapter. Greetings were shared by Mayor James Cutts, City of Desoto and Chairman Mickey George, Macon County Board of Commissioners. Mayor Barry Blount presented a proclamation on behalf of the City of Americus while State Representative Mike Cheokas, HD-138, presented a statewide recognition on behalf of the Georgia State Assembly. Additional attendees included Chairman Tony Kennedy, Webster County Board of Commissioners, Chairman Clay Jones, Sumter County Board of Commissioners, Mayor Eddie D. Hill, City of Andersonville, Americus Councilwoman Juanita Wilson, CEO George Edge, Americus Housing Authority, Americus City Manager Charles Coney, Macon County Manager Regina McDuffie, Bobby Fuse, South Georgia Voters League, Director Jessica Sinclair, Sumter County Family Connections, and Director Nicole Howell, Macon County Family Connections.

This event was a Celebration of Phenomenal Women to include the Americus Alumnae Chapter Eighteen Charter members, receiving a new chapter to serve Sumter, Dooly, Terrell, Webster, Macon, and Lee Counties on March 10, 1990. The officiating officers were Dr. Louise A. Rice and the late Dr. Anne Stroud (Albany Alumnae Chapter). The fifteen surviving charter members were beautifully draped in satin and elegant Delta regalia by Geraldine West Hudley, Dougherty County Schools Board of Education member and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Albany Alumnae Chapter, Dr. Lillie Ward, Delta Sigma Theta
Sorority Fort Valley Alumnae Chapter, and Alice Green, Sumter County Schools Board of Education member and Americus Alumnae Chapter. The Charter members are: Annita Carter Barron, Anna H. Bryant Davis, Betty Harris, Dr. Oneida Ingram, Brenda Hill Jackson, Dr. Sharon Champion Jackson, Rena Canady Laster, Dr. Shirley Latimore, Brenda K. Mansfield, Eloise R. Paschal, Linda Dowdell-Pope, Erma Wilson Robinson, Cotellia Solomon Stewart, and Lydia McCoy Walker. A moment of silence was rendered to deceased charter members The Honorable County Commissioner Andrea Fuse Brooks, Florence Hines Brown,
and Hazel Humphries Williams.